WWSU ACT 46 SCHOOL GOVERNANCE CONSOLIDATION

Harwood Unified Union School District will become operational on July 1, 2017.

On Tuesday, June 7, 2016, voters in all of the school districts of the Washington West Supervisory Union (WWSU) voted to approve forming a Unified District, which will be known as the Harwood Unified Union School District. Votes held by Australian ballot, and counted separately in Duxbury, Fayston, Moretown, Waitsfield, Warren, and Waterbury resulted in the bringing together of the governance of WWSU schools into one system.

The new governance structure will become fully operation July 1, 2017. During the year of transition, a newly formed board will begin working on the budget for the 2017-2018 fiscal year. A single budget for the operations of a coordinated PK-12 system will be presented to voters on Town Meeting Day in March of 2017. On July 1, 2017, the seven boards of WWSU will be replaced with one 14-member board overseeing the unified district, with one blended tax rate adjusted for Common Level of Appraisal in each town.

The Act 46 Study Committee is encouraged by the support of its communities and looks forward to the educational excellence and opportunities for efficiencies that this merger provides. When the State Board of Education approved WWSU's Act 46 proposal for merging school governance at its April 19th meeting, it set the path for the June 7th vote. By meeting the State's July 1, 2016, deadline for maximizing state financial incentives, the education tax rates will be adjusted for a credit of 10 cents the first year of a shared budget, and decrease by \$.02 a year until they expire. In addition, the State will make available a grant of \$130,000 to help pay for transition costs.

The unofficial results from the Act 46 governance consolidation merger special meeting vote on June 7, 2016, within the Washington West Supervisory Union:

	<u>In favor</u>	<u>Opposed</u>	
Duxbury	134	31	Vote passed
Fayston	209	47	Vote passed
Moretown	190	47	Vote passed
Waitsfield	290	94	Vote passed
Warren	279	163	Vote passed
Waterbury	451	29	Vote passed

Unified Union School District Board Members Elected:

Duxbury	Sam Jackson (3-year term) and Garett MacCurtain (4-year term)
Fayston	Heidi Spear (2-year term) and Jill Ellis (3-year term)
Moretown	Peter Langella (2-year term) and Gabriel Gilman (4-year term)
Waitsfield	Rob Williams (3-year term) and Christine Sullivan (4-year term)
Warren	Rosemarie White (2-year term) and Alycia Biondo (3-year term)
Waterbury	Alexandra Thomson and Colleen Ovelman (2-year terms), Jim Casey (3-year
	term), and Maureen McCracken (4-year term)